Skip to content

Tangling with WordPress

June 6, 2011

WordPress, the software I’m using for this site, is more complicated than Blogger, the one I used for the previous site. It may be better, more powerful, more flexible, more-all-sorts-of-things, but there’s no doubt it’s more complicated. I have limited patience for learning such things, and only moderate aptitude (which is interesting, because on a strategic level I’m very very technology-minded). So for the time being I’m using the software sort of as a typwriter-user might have approached a word processor. (If you’ve no idea what I’m talking about, you must be younger than I by quite some years).

I think I”ve enabled comments so that you’ll need to be moderated only once, and anyone who has been OK’d that first time will then be free to comment. At least, I hope that’s what I’ve done.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Silke permalink
    June 6, 2011 12:51 pm

    I like the no patience bit –

    I find it such a waste of time, but every time I think I found a “mechanic” to outsource that thing to to get back to the paradise I enjoyed in that respect at work, I find myself short on money and with more often than not an additional problem to take care of.

  2. June 7, 2011 1:18 am

    I hear you Yaacov. I chose WordPress because I saw that several of my favourite bloggers (including you) had problems with Blogger (the day of the Big Wipeout), and every so often the comments go down etc. I too had a bit of difficulty with WordPress, but I had no expeirence with Blogger to compare it to. But I’ve got the hang of it now (more or less).

    The one serious problem with wordpress.com (the free version) is that you can’t install javascript widgets which is a shame for the fun of the blogging experience. e.g. you can’t install a clock, a sefirat ha’omer counter, anything with “javascript” in the html. So my Feedjit and Statcounters don’t show the full picture. For the moment I’m managing. I can always upgrade when (if) I hit the big time.

    Why did you pick WordPress this time round if I may be so bold as to ask?

  3. June 7, 2011 4:17 pm

    Anne,

    I don’t much like Blogger, so WordPress seemed obvious. Also, it offers more room to grow in other directions, should I one day be so inclined.

    The widgits I”ll do without for the time being. As you say, should Iever be interested I can always upgrade.

  4. Jane permalink
    June 13, 2011 11:03 am

    I sympathise with you over WordPress. I started a new blog with it, and gave up – too complicated, and I wouldn’t consider myself a technophobe or a Luddite:-)

    I have a friend in Highland Park, Leora Wenger who helps people around WordPress (especially for business). Her website is http://www.leoraw.com. She does a lot for Rutgers University I think. So long as you keep posting text, I’ll be happy. You don’t really need all the gizmos.

  5. June 15, 2011 3:01 am

    I very much like the clean look of your WordPress theme, the easy-to-read print, and most of all, your content (substance & expression). Thank you.
    I’m thinking about starting my first blog either on WordPress or Squarespace, which supposedly is easier (I haven’t yet done the free trial) but more expensive.

Leave a Reply

